Goodbye Facebook!

I am in the process of deleting my Facebook profile I’ve had for nearly 8 years. Did you know you can download a zip file of all of your stuff on Facebook? Detailed instructions at this link:

http://www.digitaltrends.com/social-media/want-to-know-what-data-facebook-has-on-you-a-primer-on-what-you-get-and-how-to-get-it/

Why am I deleting Facebook and what do I hope to get out of it?

For one there’s so many other things that we could be doing when we are aimlessly surfing Facebook.  Like striking up a conversation with a person on the street or with our own coworkers and friends and family.  I personally prefer hearing someone’s voice and talking either face to face or in person or via Skype.

I feel as though in the search for closeness we have made ourselves even more distant. For example and I know you do this too (but you don’t have to admit it)..we go to a person’s page to find out what they are up to. But don’t we all tweak what we put on social media just a little bit?  So we don’t get a whole truthful viewing unless we do talk to them but that doesn’t always happen.

The algorithms are also not user friendly. Pictures of my face would get more attention than some really important topics I was trying to talk about. That one irritated me most of all. I am not my face. I am a human with things to say and I didn’t want to be only taken for face value. That’s why I like this blog.  Nobody is obligated to read it.

Last but certainly not least is that we so willingly give up so much personal information and for what? So Facebook can make more money by selling our data? No thanks.

Really it’s just lost its lustre for me. I deactivated my account for a month and I only logged in once to get a phone number for someone in that time. Within a day of going back on completely I realized I was done with the superficial conversations. I’ve just grown tired of it. It all seems very fake to me these days.

So I’m saying so long, sayonara,  bye bye Facebook ! It’s been a nice run. But it’s time to move on.

Leave a Reply

